So, what did you do last weekend? …Not again!!!

I love to start a class with some ramdom talk, just a few minutes to warm things up. I teach one-to-one lessons, so having that time is really important to connect with my students.
weekend

Last week, on a Monday I started my class with the typical question to my student (executive in a company where I teach Business English twice a week) “So, tell about your weekend, Martin…” The poor guy, what a boring question. Many times we have the same old way to begin the class.

So yesterday I decided to begin the class by asking him to make a simple list about:

-Three things you DIDN’T do last weekend…
-Three things you should have done last weekend…
-Three things you would like to do next weekend…. (so I have some topics to talk about next week)

Then I thought of some other ideas but didn’t really get the time to do them all…the thing is, how great it is when you think outside the box and try a little change…it’s worth the try. So, how do you start your class? How do you warm things up? Do you ask students about their weekend?

About Susana Castaneda

I am a Business English teacher, teacher trainer and business owner. I write based on my experience and knowledge as an entrepreneur and teacher in Lima-Perú. If you find these useful, thanks in advance for your comments ;)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So, what did you do last weekend? …Not again!!!

  1. This is a great tip! I’ll try it with my private class on Tuesday!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

